GF Tentative Travel Itinerary

So we’re finishing up here in jolly Olde England tomorrow with gluten free yorkshire pudding and roast beef, plus a non-lactose raspberry trifle. ( The latter is going to be my own experiment adapting a recipe with vanilla soy yogurt etc,  so wish me luck) For authenticity, I’ll throw in some boiled carrots, but there will have to be some greens or a salad too because I’m o.d.ing on all this meat and potatoes stuff– feeling severely deprived in the vegetable area since we started eating British Isles food — although I must say that the men in my family are extremely happy.     In fact, two nights ago Luke hit the door around 6:00, dropped his backpack on the family room floor, and said,  “Is this the night we’re having the awesome meal with lambchops and stuff?”  He couldn’t wait to get his hands on a big chunk of meat!   I served the lambchops with mashed potatoes, mint jelly, and peas.    And then last night I took the leftover potatoes and made Irish Omelettes, which everyone loved except me.  If you’re interested (they are very easy)  check out  www.ireland-information.com/irishrecipes/

I will not bore you with the big, long itinerary, because it’s going to change anyway, I’m sure, as I wing my way along, but here is my schedule for the next few months:

  • Scandinavia and Finland
  • Germany, Austria, Holland, Switzerland
  • Russia, Poland, Hungary, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Ukraine etc.
  • Balkans: Romania, Bulgaria, Bosnia, Serbia, Greece
  • France, Belgium, Luxembourg
  • Spain and Portugal
  • Italy     (a whole two weeks cuz my family loves Italian food)

If  you have good recipes, gluten free or easily adaptable, for any of these countries, please send them!

About tamisrenteria

Tamis Renteria, author and anthropologist, writes novels and short stories about people struggling with different religious, spiritual, and cultural traditions. She lives with her husband and youngest son in Tucson, Arizona where she types on a Mac, cooks ethnic food, and gardens among the sahuaros.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to GF Tentative Travel Itinerary

  1. Mercedes says:

    When you get to Switzerland you should do Raclette. If you don’t already have a Raclette cooking implement you have to buy one, and have your dinning table near an electrical outlet or have a good extension cord that no one will trip on or pull the whole thing off the table accidentally. I got mine at Sur la table. Our compadre’s from Switzerland, and he showed us this dish. It’s a perfect cold weather cuisine. Avoid the French Raclette cheese, get the Swiss one. That fancy market you go to can get it for you. You just throw thinly sliced meats and veggie on the top of the heated implement prepared with salt and oil to prevent sticking and meanwhile you melt the Raclette on the paddles on the lower part of the implement. Then you put the cooked meat & veggies on your plate and then scrape the melted cheese on top and serve with boiled or baked potatos and garnish with chives and there’s a special spice that’s got nutmeg in it that’s essential to sprinkle on top. Any wine goes down too easy with this feast. And you have to ski a lot trails to burn the calories off or just slather that cheese directly onto your hips and surrender your war with the bathroom scale.

    • I won that battle with the bathroom scale a long time ago — I just tossed the damn thing out. But thanks for the tips about raclette. I’m intrigued and will do a little investigating.

      • Mercedes says:

        OMIG you had me going there. I thought you are a goddess. Until I read the 2nd line. My scale is digital. I just got it and the damn thing needs new batteries already. I was using the scale at work but I hated having the whole nurses station watch me step on the scale…But truth be told I am a slave to it.
        After I sent that reply, which I was typing while my 16 yr old who has a permit to drive was driving (a little risky), I thought oh Tamis knows all about raclette why am I doing this, but I gather you don’t. I have two other friends with families who have the machine and once a year we line those puppies up on the dinning room table and feast, kids all over the place. You cut the meat in bite sized pieces, not sliced like shabu shabu. I’ve never done fish but you could. Usually beef, pork and chicken. And bell peppers and zucchini and asparagus behave well but mushrooms and anything else will do. I’ll have to get you the name of the spice, it’s sold already mixed in a shaker. The cheese puts a dent in the budget but we only do it once a year. It’s a very interactive meal and very social and lots of fun.

      • I just found this comment; still getting used to the logistics of this website. Anyway, now that my friend Martha has also chimed in about the wonders of raclette I will have to look into it. I’m cooking German, Dutch, and Swiss food in two weeks. Do you have a recipe?

  2. Martha says:

    I can’t resist weighing in on Raclette. (Surprisingly, it’s pronounced RACK-let by the Swiss, not Ra-CLETT as I always want to say.) Like Paella, you can make it fancy, use special equipment, and make it a wonderful company dish. But also like Paella, it started out as a peasant dish. Classically, it’s served in celebration of new (as in pulled out of the ground that week) little potatoes. Boil the potatoes, melt Raclette in a heavy skillet, serve together. Heaven.

Leave a Reply

