Leftovers and Some Bits and Pieces of Another Sort

We’re having leftover Mulligatawny tonight, but I want to take this opportunity to make some disclaimers and give some explanations:

  1. I do not claim to be a really good cook; I personally know dozens of people who are much more knowledgeable and creative in the kitchen and I hope some of them will contribute to this blog.
  2. Writing this blog is not going to interfere in my writing of the novel-that-never-seems-to-end.  In fact, those of you who know me enough to care, I promise I am working hard on “The Prophet’s Woman,” and will soon be looking for an agent and/or publisher.
  3. That is a picture of the Catalina Mountains from my backyard.
  4. Although I called myself a “California Cook” earlier in the blog, I live in Arizona and am technically only a Californian in my heart.


About tamisrenteria

Tamis Renteria, author and anthropologist, writes novels and short stories about people struggling with different religious, spiritual, and cultural traditions. She lives with her husband and youngest son in Tucson, Arizona where she types on a Mac, cooks ethnic food, and gardens among the sahuaros.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Leftovers and Some Bits and Pieces of Another Sort

  1. Mercedes says:

    “Mulligatawny”, that’s another new word for my vocab. That’s probably derived from Mulligan Stew? The only Mulligan I know is the one I take when I golf.
    And what’s a “good cook” anyway? You’re a good cook. I think anyone who cleans up after themselves qualifies. I cut recipes out of magazines and salivate over the food section in the LA Times so I guess that makes me more of a spectator cook.
    I hope you finish your book soon too. You don’t have to be a fast writer but you should finish. I guess you want to be a “good author” too. I just finished “Freedom” and Oprah thinks Jonathan Franzen’s a good writer but it took him nearly 10 years to get that book out or it took her 10 years to forget how he dissed her the first time she tried to put him on her list.
    I’ve been reading your posts on my iPhone so I didn’t notice the picture and I thought it was part of this World Press website your using for your blog, I didn’t realize you put it there. That’s nice. I hope you are going to change it once and a while.
    I did notice that you called yourself a California cook. To me it suggests that you want to come back to California and I would vote for that.

Leave a Reply

